Missing subtags 003 and 172

Phillips, Addison addison at lab126.com
Fri Jul 30 18:48:49 CEST 2010

It is just the 'economic groupings' or 'other groupings' that are excluded (199, 432, 722, 778). The codes 003 and 172 are macro-geographical or sub-regions, and are thus to be included.

172 (Commonwealth of Independent States) is a grouping under “transition countries”, whose code is 778 (appearing in the list above). It is an economic grouping and thus forbidden. See:


In particular, see footnote (d) which says:

d/ "Countries in transition from centrally planned to market economies" is a grouping used for economic analysis.

Whereas 003 *is* a continent and thus should have been included.


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.alvestrand.no/pipermail/ietf-languages/attachments/20100730/e65f7743/attachment.html>

More information about the Ietf-languages mailing list