The General Directorate

The General Directorate is created to advise the General AD in the task of managing the working groups dealing with rulemaking, process design and IETF organizational maintenance - "getting the IETF to work".

The intent is to help make sure the various efforts are pulling in compatible directions, and that what needs to be done is actually getting done by someone.

The formal responsibility of a directorate is to advise the AD(s), not to make decisions. Directorate members have no special authority.

The directorate currently consists of:

Harald Alvestrand - <>
Bernard Aboba - <>
Brian Carpenter - <>
Leslie Daigle - <>
Spencer Dawkins - <>
John Klensin - <>
John Loughney - <>
Margaret Wasserman - <>

The directorate can be contacted by sending e-mail to <>.